
 
March 25, 2025 
 
Representative Joseph J. Solomon, Jr. 
Chair, House Committee On Corporations  
Rhode Island State House 
Providence, RI 02903  
 
Re:  House 5333 – An Act Relating To Insurance – Casualty Insurance Generally – Limitations on 

Policy Cancellations and Renewals 
 
Dear Mr. Chairman: 
 
This statement in opposition to H.5333 is submitted by the American Property Casualty Insurance 
Association (APCIA).1  H.5333 would make Rhode Island the only state in the country with insurance 
price caps and increased notice requirements for a 20% rate increase.  
 
Insurance is one of the most highly regulated industries and Rhode Island has some of the strictest 
standards in the country. Every single rate charged in Rhode Island is reviewed by analysts in the 
Department of Business Regulation as well as by contracted actuaries to assure that it is not excessive, 
inadequate or unfairly discriminatory.2 Thanks to the work of the DBR, Rhode Island has a healthy and 
competitive property insurance market with 22 licensed insurers each writing more than 1% of the 
market. 
 
The essence of insurance regulation is that rates need to be adequate to prevent insolvency, not excessive 
to prevent abuse of market power and they should not be unfairly discriminatory. Insurance rates reflect 
the risk on the ground, thus, to make insurance rates more affordable, the underlying risk must be 
reduced. This proposal is problematic because insurers are statutorily prohibited from charging 
inadequate rates, meaning rates that are “insufficient to sustain projected losses and expenses” or “will 
have the effect of substantially lessening competition.” Insurers are also prohibited from charging rates 
that generate unreasonably high profits. In Rhode Island, that means that companies seeking loss ratios of 
under 60% (meaning for every $100 charged in premium they would be paying out less than $60 to 
insureds) need to add additional explanation for how their product provides sufficient value and benefits 
for policyholders.3 The market reflects these requirements with a 58% homeowners loss ratio in 2023.4 
This also means that 20% rate hikes are exceedingly rare and likely indicate a major concern about the 
property. 
 

 
1 Representing nearly 65% of the U.S. property casualty insurance market, APCIA promotes and protects the 
viability of private competition for the benefit of consumers and insurers. APCIA represents the broadest cross-
section of home, auto, and business insurers of any national trade association. APCIA members represent all sizes, 
structures, and regions, which protect families, communities, and businesses in the U.S. and across the globe. 
Several APCIA members are located in Rhode Island and many more do business here. Together, APCIA members 
write over 75% of the auto insurance sold in the state. 
2 See Section 27-44-5 
3https://dbr.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur696/files/documents/divisions/insurance/property_casualty/PC_Rate_Rule_
and_Form_Requirements_SERFF.pdf  
4 https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/publication-msr-pb-property-casualty.pdf  
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Artificially capping prices insurers can charge does not decrease their costs or the outside factors 
impacting them such as inflation, increasing frequency of extreme weather events, or supply chain 
challenges. It also does not change statutory requirements that they charge rates adequate to sustain 
projected losses and expenses. If insurers are unable to meet these requirements with a 5% price cap, they 
may choose not to insure some of Rhode Island’s most vulnerable residents or leave the market entirely. 
The unintended consequence is this may reduce coverage options for consumers and in concentrating the 
risk in the state among fewer insurance providers this can result in greater exposure that may necessitate 
higher rates for the providers that remain. 
 
This bill fails to account for many realities. It would cap insurance premium increases for policyholders 
aged 65 and older with “household income equal to or less than the Rhode Island income limits for low- 
and moderate-income households as published by RI Housing.” RI Housing publishes a range of caps 
based on area-median income by location as different housing types allow for different thresholds.5 
Moderate-income housing in Rhode Island can accept tenants at up to 120% of AMI6, meaning the cap is 
$126,000 for a 2-person household. That is a substantial income.  
 
Furthermore, seniors, even those with significant savings, material assets (such as a mortgage-free home), 
and/or social benefits7, typically have lower incomes because many are retired or lesser-employed than 
those in other age cohorts. This bill takes none of these issues into consideration, instead obfuscating the 
market to create government price controls of an entirely optional service. Homeowners buy insurance 
because they value and can afford the service. They are not mandated to do so.  
 
History (including current developments in California) has clearly shown that price caps do not serve 
consumers and indeed often work against availability of coverage. Fully allowing risk-based pricing is 
essential to assure availability. History has also demonstrated that reducing underlying costs and 
preventing losses is the surest way to have more affordable insurance prices, as insurance is largely a 
passthrough mechanism of those costs and losses. Although well intended, this legislation may harm both 
insurance availability and affordability by discouraging competition. In addition, it may result in 
suppressing rates for some or all policy holders, thereby hiding the true costs of providing coverage and 
so delay actions that would reduce those costs and losses and also save lives and prevent injuries. If 
Rhode Island values homeowners’ insurance, rather than creating price controls that will damage the 
industry and hurt consumers, we urge them to create homeowner insurance subsidies like housing 
vouchers or SNAP that help vulnerable populations afford key goods and services. 
 
Increasing notice requirements does not address affordability or availability challenges. 
The homeowner’s insurance market in Rhode Island has become more expensive recently, largely due to 
external factors such as inflation, material and labor costs, and increasing frequency of natural disasters. It 
is possible that homeowners could face premium increases or in certain circumstances, find themselves 
needing to access the FAIR Plain. However, because of the healthy regulated market Rhode Islander’s 
enjoy today, even in those circumstances, shopping for new insurance is not a particularly time 
consuming proposition.  
 
Furthermore, increasing notice requirements would add administrative burdens for insurers, in large part 
because it would make Rhode Island an outlier. Only three states in the country require extended notice 

 
5 https://www.rihousing.com/wp-content/uploads/FY-24-HUD-Income-Limits.pdf  
6 https://homesri.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/ARPA-Recommendations-final-10_13_21.pdf  
7 E.g. – Property tax exemption, 
https://municipalfinance.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur546/files/documents/data/exemptions/Veterans-Senior-
Exemptions-Report.pdf or subsidized health care, https://eohhs.ri.gov/consumer/older-adults/healthcare-older-
adults  
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for rate increases and all of them are premised on rate increases larger than 20%.8 Furthermore only two 
of those three states require at least 60-days notice for large increases. Ultimately, the notice provision in 
this bill would add administrative expense to address a rare issue (20% premium increase) and a problem 
(30 days to find new insurance) that does not exist.  
 
For these reasons, we urge you to hold H.5333 for further study. 
 
Very truly yours, 
 

 
 
Jonathan Schreiber 
Associate Vice President, State Government Relations 
American Property Casualty Insurance Association 
Jonathan.schreiber@apci.org 
(202) 828-7121 

 
8 https://uphelp.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/boggs-conditional-renewal-rules-by-state.pdf  
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