

March 11, 2021

The Honorable David A. Bennett Chair, House Committee on Environment and Natural Resources Rhode Island State House 82 Smith Street Providence, RI 02903

Re: SUPPORT for Renewable Energy Standards Legislation - House Bill No. 5762 by Ruggiero, Handy, Potter, Carson, Cortvriend, Kislak, Shanley

To Chairman Bennett:

Please consider this written testimony in support of Chairwoman Ruggiero's renewable energy standards legislation that would take an important and bold step forward for Rhode Island.

TurningPoint Energy (TPE) is a national solar development and advisory company, based in Colorado that specializes in community solar. We started investing in Rhode Island in 2016 as part of the initial Community Solar Pilot that was created in a package of important renewable energy legislation that was sponsored and led by Chairwoman Ruggerio. We thank her for her ongoing leadership!

HB-5762 will require the state to staircase up the state's electricity supply towards 100% by 2030. This is an ambitious but achievable goal that helps drive demand for regional clean energy of scale. Time is of the essence as year after year the effects of climate change and rising sea levels will become more costly and impactful to Rhode Islanders.

Thank you in advance for considering this important proposal to continue Rhode Island's path towards a renewable energy future. Please do not hesitate to reach out if we can provide any additional information to your committee.

Sincerely Yours,

Michelle Carpenter

Michelle Carpenter Managing Director of Development TurningPoint Energy

cc: Representative Robert D. Phillips, First Vice Chair Representative William W. O'Brien, Second Vice Chair Representative Lauren H. Carson Representative Terri-Denise Cortvriend Representative Barbara Ann Fenton-Fung



Representative Kathleen A. Fogarty Representative Arthur Handy Representative Jason Knight Representative Alex Marszalkowski Representative Carol Hagan McEntee Representative James N. McLaughlin Representative Patricia L. Morgan Representative Marcia R. Ranglin-Vassell Representative June Speakman