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Department of Administration

BUDGET OFFICE
One Capitol Hiil
Provide_nce, R.I. 02908-5886

MEMORANDUM

To: . The Honorable Marvin L. Abney
Chairman, House Finance Committee

The Honorable William J. Conley, Jr.
Chairman, Senate Finance Committee

From: Thomas A. Mullaney / G 4
Executive Director/State Budget Officer

Date: May 25, 2017

Subject: Amendments to Article 9 of the FY 2018 Appropriations Act
(17-H-5175)

The Governor requests that Article 9 entitled “Relating to Remote Sellers Sales Tax Collection”
submitted with the FY 2018 budget on January 19, 2017 be replaced with the attached version.
Compared to the original version of the article, the new version: ‘

e Imposes the customer notice requirements and the attestation requirement only upon the
noncollecting retailer (not on all covered entities which previously also included marketplace
providers, and referrers);

Clarifies the definitions of noncollecting retailer, retail sale facilitator, and referrer;

e Imposes separate duties upon the retail sale facilitator and referrer; and,

Amends the penalty range by increasing the per transaction penalty from $5 per violation to
$10 per violation, but reducing the minimum penalty per calendar year from $20,000 to
$10,000. ‘ '

Also attached is a detailed explanation of the revised article from Tax Administrator, Neena Savage
that describes the statutory changes in each section of the article.

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please feel free to call me at 222-6300 or
Neena Savage, the State Tax Administrator, at 574-8889.

TAM:sma 18-Amend-21
cc:  Sharon Reynolds Ferland, House Fiscal Advisor
Stephen Whitney, Senate Fiscal Advisor
Michael DiBiase, Director of Administration
Jonathan Womer, Director, Office of Management and Budget
Gregory Stack, Supervising Budget Analyst
Neena Savage, Tax Administrator .
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customers annually of their sales/use tax liability and during the online sale via pop-up notice
and email, and attest annually to their compliance with the terms and conditions of the law.

The $100,000 annval gross RI sales and 200 separate annual RI sales transactions thresholds
are also applicable to retail sale facilitators and referrers. Retail sale facilitators, if they meet
the definitional and threshold requirements, have to annually provide the Division of Taxation
with a list of names/addresses of retailers for which they collect and do not collect Rhode
Island Sales and Use Tax. Referrers, if they meet the definitional and threshold requirements,
have to provide all Rhode Island retailers notice of a duty to possibly collect and remit
sales/use tax within 30 days of receiving more than ten thousand dollars in fees or
commissions from referral activity in Rhode Island.

Explanation of Sections

Section 1: 44-18.2-1. Legislative Findings: This section articulates the rationale for the
legislative proposal by recognizing the limits of the constitutional commerce
clause prohibition but articulating the reduced burdens on compliance for
remote sellers due to Rhode Island’s participation in the Streamlined Sales and
Use Tax Agreement and the growth of the online marketplace aided by more
sophisticated technology which has aided the expansion of the online
marketplace and will also aid compliance. This section also states that the
existence and/or presence of a noncollecting retailer’s, referrer’s, or retail sale
facilitator’s software in Rhode Island constitutes physical presence and that
the use of that software for the purpose of engaging in a significant number of
transactions with in-state customers or receiving significant revenue from such
transactions also evidences an intent to establish and maintain a market in this
state for its sales.

44-18.2. Definitions: This section provides definitions for key terms
including, but not limited to, noncollecting retailer, referrer, and retail sale
facilitator.

44-18.2-3. Requirements for Noncollecting Retailers, Referrers, and
Retail Sale Facilitators: This section provides that Noncollecting Retailers,
Referrers, and Retail Sale Facilitators that have gross revenue in Rhode Island
that meets or exceeds $100,000 or two hundred or more separate transactions
must meet specific compliance requirements. Noncollecting Retailers must
either: register, collect or remit sales/use tax or for each transaction: i) post a
conspicuous notice on its website that informs Rhode Island purchasers that
sales or use tax is due on certain purchases; ii) at the time of purchase notify
Rhode Island purchasers that sales and use tax is due; iii) email Rhode Island
purchasers that sales or use tax is due, iv) send Rhode Island purchasers a
notice annually which details their camulative annual taxable purchases from
the covered entity of $100 or more; and, v) beginning February 15, 2018 and
annually thereafter, if it has not registered to collect and remit sales tax, file an
attestation with the Division of Taxation that it has complied with the four
notice requirements in this subsection.
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ARTICLE 9
RELATING TO SALES AND USE TAX — NONCOLLECTING RETAILERS, REFERRERS,
AND RETAIL SALE FACILITATORS
SECTION 1. Title 44 of the general laws entitled "Taxation" is hereby amended by adding thereto
the following chapter:
CHAPTER 18.2

SALES AND USE TAX - NONCOLLECTING RETAILERS, REFERRERS. AND RETAIL SALE

FACILITATORS ACT

44-18.2-1. Legislative findings. --- The general assembly finds and declares that:

(1) The commerce clause of the United States Constitution prohibits states from imposing an undue

burden on interstate commerce.

(2) There has been an exponential expansion of online commerce and related technology, and due

to the ready availability of sales and use tax collection software and Rhode Island’s status as a signatory to

the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Asreement under which there is an existing compliance infrastructure

in place to facilitate the collection and remittance of sales tax by noncollecting retailers, it is no longer an

undue burden for noncollecting retailers to accurately compute, collect and remit and/or report with respect

to their sales and use tax obligations to Rhode Island.

(3) The existence and/or presence of a noncollecting retailer’s, referrer’s. or retail sale facilitator’s

in-state software on the devices of in-state customers constitutes physical presence of the noncollecting

retailer, referrer, or retail sale facilitator in Rhode Island under Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298

(U.S. 1992).

(4) While such a physical presence of the noncollecting retailer, referrer, or retail sale facilitator

may not be “presence” in the traditional sense, a noncollecting retailer, referrer, or retail sale facilitator who

uses_in-state software and engages in a significant number of transactions with in-state customers in a

calendar vear or receives significant revenue from internet sales to in-state customers in a given calendar

vear evidences an intent to establish and maintain a market in this state for its sales.
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mailings; collecting, analyzing and utilizing individual data on_in-state customers; using information or

software, including cached files, cached software, or ‘cookies’. or other data tracking tools. that are stored

on property in or distributed within this state; or taking any other action(s) that use persons, tangible

property. intangible property, digital files or information, or software in this state in an effort to enhance

the probability that the person’s contacts with a potential in-state customer will result in a sale to that in-

state customer:

(i) Entering into one or more agreements under which a person or persons who has physical

presence in this state refers, either directly or indirectly, potential in-state customers of tangible personal

property, prewritten computer software delivered electronically or by load and leave, and/or taxable

services to the noncollecting retailer for a fee, commission, or other consideration, whether by an internet-

based link or an internet web site or otherwise. An agreement under which a noncollecting retailer purchases

advertisements from a person or persons in this state, to be delivered in this state on television, radio, in

print. on the internet, or by any other medium in this state, shall not be considered an agreement under this

subsection (ii). unless the advertisement revenue or a portion thereof paid to the person or persons in this

state consists of a fee, commission, or other consideration that is based in whole or in part upon sales of

tangible personal property. prewritten computer software delivered electronically or by load and leave,

and/or taxable services; or

(iii) Using a retail sale facilitator to sell, lease, or deliver in this state, or participate in any activity

in this state in connection with the selling, leasing, or delivering in this state. of tangible personal property.,

prewritten computer software delivered electronically or by load and leave, and/or taxable services for use,

storage, ot consumption in this state.

(C) Uses a sales process that includes listing, branding, or selling tangible personal property,

prewritten computer software delivered electronically or by load and leave, and/or taxable services for sale,

soliciting, processing orders, fulfilling orders, providing customer service and/or accepting or assisting with

returns or exchanges occurring in this state, regardless of whether that part of the process has been

subcontracted to an affiliate or third party. The sales process for which the in-state customer is charged not
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(vi) Shares management. business systems, business practices, computer resources, communication

systems, payroll, personnel, or other such business resources and activities with the noncollecting retailer,

and/or engages in intercompany transactions with the noncollecting retailer, either or both of which relate

to the activities that establish or maintain the noncollecting retailer’s market in this state.

(F)_Any person or persons who meets at least one (1) of the criteria in § 44-18.2-2(4)(A) through §

"~ 44-18.2-2(4)E) above shall be presumed to be a noncollecting retailer.

(5) “Person’’ means person as defined in section § 44-18-6 of the general laws.

(6) “Referrer” means every person who:

(A) Contracts or otherwise agrees with a retailer to list and/or advertise for sale in this state tangible

personal property, prewritten computer software delivered electronically or by load and leave, and/or

taxable services in any forum, including, but not limited to, a catalog or internet website;

(B) Receives a fee, commission, and/or other consideration from a retailer for the listing and/or

advertisement;

(C) Transfers, via in-state software, internet link, or otherwise. an in-state customer to the retailer

or the retailer’s emplovee. affiliate. or website to complete a purchase; and

(D) Does not collect payments from the in-state customer for the transaction.

(F) A person or persons who engages in the activity set forth in all of the activities set forth in §

44-18.2-2(6)(A) through § 44-18.2-2(6)(D) above shall be presumed to be a referrer.

(1) “Related” means:

(A) Having a relationship with the noncollecting retailer within the meaning of the internal revenue

code of 1986 as amended; or

(B) Having one or more ownership relationships and a purpose of having the ownership relationship

is to avoid the application of this chapter.

(8) A "retail sale" or "sale at retail" means any retail sale or sale at retail as defined in § 44-18-8 of

the general laws.
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software delivered electronically or by load and leave, and/or taxable services for delivery into this state in

two hundred (200) or more separate transactions shall comply with the requirements in subsections § 44-

18.2-3(E). (F). and (G) as applicable.

(B) A noncollecting retailer, as defined in this chapter, shall comply with § 44-18.2-3(E) below if

it meets the criteria of either § 44-18.2-3(A)(i) or (ii) above.

(C) A referrer. as defined in this chapter, shall comply with § 44-18.2-3(F) below if it meets the

criteria of either § 44-18.2-3(A)(i) or (ii) above.

(D) A retail sale facilitator, as defined in this chapter, shall comply with § 44-18.2-3(G) below if it

meets the criteria of either § 44-18.2-3(A)(i) or (ii) above.

(E) Noncollecting retailer. A noncollecting retailer shall either register in this state for a permit to

make sales at retail and collect and remit sales and use tax on all taxable sales into the state or:

(1) Post a conspicuous notice on its website that informs in-state customers that sales or use tax is

due on certain purchases made from the noncollecting retailer and that this state requires the in-state customer

to file a sales or use tax return;

(2) At the time of purchase. notify in-state customers that sales or use tax is due on taxable purchases

made from the noncollecting retailer and that the state of Rhode Island requires the in-state customer to file

a sales or use tax return;

(3) Within forty-eight (48) hours of the time of purchase. notify in-state customers in writing that

sales or use tax is due on taxable purchases made from the noncollecting retailer and that this state requires

the in-state customer to file a sales or use tax return reflecting said purchase;

(4) On or before January 31 of each vear, including January 31, 2018 for purchases made in calendar

vear 2017, send a written notice to all in-state customers who have cumulative annual taxable purchases from

the noncollecting retailer totaling one hundred dollars ($100) or more for the prior calendar vear, The

notification shall show the name of the noncollecting retailer, the total amount paid by the in-state customer

to the noncollecting retailer in the previous calendar year, and, if available, the dates of purchases, the dollar

amount of each purchase, and the category or type of the purchase. including, whether the purchase is exempt
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referrer, and/or retail sale facilitator as applicable even if referred to by another name or designation. Said

person or entity shall be subject to the terms and conditions set forth in this chapter.

44-18.2-4. Exceptions for referrers, and retail sale facilitators. -—- (A)(i) Notwithstanding the

provisions of § 44-18.2-3, no retail sale facilitator shall be required to comply with the provisions of § 44-

18.2-3(G), for any sale where the retail sale facilitator within ninety (90) days of the date of the sale has

been provided either (1) a copy of the retailer’s Rhode Island sales tax permit to make sales at retail in this

state or its resale certificate as applicable, or (2) evidence of a fully completed Rhode Island or Streamlined

agreement sales and use tax exemption certificate.

(ii) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 44-18.2-3, no referrer shall be required to comply with the

provisions of § 44-18.2-3(F) for any referral where the referrer within ninety (90) davs of the date of the

sale has been provided either (1) a copy of the retailer’s Rhode Island sales tax permit to make sales at retail

in this state or its resale certificate as applicable, or (2) evidence of a fully completed Rhode Island or

Streamlined agreement sales and use tax exemption certificate.

(B) Nothing in this section shall be construed to interfere with the ability of a noncollecting retailer,

referrer, or retail sale facilitator and a retailer to enter into agreements with each other: provided, however,

the terms of said agreements shall not in any way be inconsistent with or contravene the requirements of

this chapter.

44-18.2-5. Penalties. —- Any noncollecting retailer, referrer, or retail sale facilitator that fails to

comply with any of the requirements of this chapter shall be subject to a penalty of ten dotlars ($10.00) for

each such failure, but not less than a total penalty of ten thousand dollars ($10.000) per calendar vear. Each

instance of failing to comply with the requirements of this chapter shall constitute a separate violation for

purposes of calculating the penalty under this section. This penalty shall be in addition to any other applicable

penalties under title 44 of the general laws.

44-18.2-6. Other obligations. --- (A) Nothing in this section affects the obligation of any in-state

customer to remit use tax as to any applicable transaction in which the seller. noncollecting retailer, or

retail sale facilitator has not collected and remitted the sales tax for said transaction.
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