Department of Administration
BUDGET OFFICE

One Capitol Hill
Providence, R.I. 02908-5886

Memorandum 06-03-17 PO5:35 IN

To: The Honorable Marvin L. Abney
Chairman, House Finance Committee

The Honorable William J. Conley, Jr.
Chairman, Senate Finance Committee

From: Thomas A. Mullaney QZ{ )% o A /ﬁ@//
Executive Director/Stete Budget Offic 7

Date: June 8, 2017

Subject: New Article Relating to Business Corporations Tax

FY 2018 Appropriations Act (17-H-5175)

The Governor requests that a new article entitled “Relating to Business Corporations Tax” be
added to the FY 2018 Appropriations Act. This article would change the corporate tax estimated
payment schedule to align Rhode Island with best practices, align Rhode Island with federal
reporting timelines, avoid a revenue loss due to deferred revenue in FY 2017, and improve Rhode
Island’s business environment. Current statute requires estimated payments for a corporate tax
year as follows: 40 percent in the 3™ month of the tax year and 60 percent in the 6 month. The
changes proposed in this article would make estimated payments due as follows: 25 percent each
on the 15" day of the 4™, 6, 9" and 12 months of the tax year.

Without this amendment, the Auditor General and the State Controller will increase the amount of
deferred revenue from business corporations tax at the end of FY 2017. This would lower revenues
in the current fiscal year by at least $10.0 million. This is the result of better information on carry
forward balances available from the new STAARS tax system. Carry forward balances result
when taxpayers have an overpayment relative to their tax liability but elect to apply the balance to
future tax liabilities rather than request a refund. These carry forward balances occur routinely but
have not been factored into the determination of revenue recognition for financial reporting
purposes because of the lack of good data.

Assuming passage of this amendment and based on FY 2016 actual revenues, the State Controller
has estimated no impact on revenues in FY 2017, but reduced revenues of $0.2 million in FY 2018
and $2.2 million in FY 2019.

TDD#: 277-1227



If you have any questions regarding this new article, please feel free to call me at 222-6300.

TAM: 18-Amend-23
Attachment

cc:  Sharon Reynolds Ferland, House Fiscal Advisor
Stephen Whitney, Senate Fiscal Advisor
Michael DiBiase, Director of Administration
Jonathan Womer, Director, Office of Management and Budget
Gregory Stack, Supervising Budget Analyst
Robert Hull, Director, Department of Revenue
Neena Savage, Tax Administrator
Dennis Hoyle, Auditor General
Peter Keenan, State Controller
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ARTICLE X

RELATING TO BUSINESS CORPORATIONS TAX
SECTION 1. Section 44-26-2.1 of General Laws in Chapter 44-26 entitled “Declaration
of Estimated Tax by Corporations” is hereby amended to read as follows:

44-26-2.1 Declaration — Due date — Payment — Interest. — (a) Notwithstanding any

general or specific statute to the contrary, every corporation having a taxable year ending

December 31, 1990, or thereafter, until December 31, 2017 shall file a declaration and payment

of its estimated tax for the taxable year ending December 31, 1990, or thereafter, until December

31, 2017, as applicable herein, if its estimated tax can reasonably be expected to exceed five

hundred dollars ($500). Every corporation having a taxable year after December 31, 2017, shall

file its declaration and estimated payment in accordance with subsection (n) herein and in

conformity with federal statute and regulations notwithstanding any Rhode Island statute to the

contrary. All The declaration, sworn to by the officer of the corporation who is required to sign
its return under any of the chapters and section mentioned in § 44-26-1 shall contain the pertinent
information and be in the form that the tax administrator may prescribe. The entire amount of the
estimated tax shall constitute the amount of the advance required to be paid.

(b)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, the declaration of

estimated tax required of corporations by subsection (a) of this section shall be filed as follows:

If the requirements of The declaration shall
subsection (a) are first be filed on or before:
met:

before the first day of

the third month of the

taxable Year ......ccocvveeriiiiiie e The fifteenth day of the
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after the first day of
the third month and
before the first day of

the sixth month of the

taxable year.......cocoeeeneeeiiinnineens

(2) The declaration of estimated tax required of corporations subject to 27-3-38 relating

If the requirements of
subsection (a) are first
met:

Before the first day of

the fourth month of the

taxable year.......ccceveenreeenniiniiinnn,

After the first day of
the fourth month and

before the first day of

third month of the tax-

able year;

the fifteenth day of the
sixth month of the tax-

able year.

to surplus line brokers premium tax or under any special act or acts in lieu of the provisions of

that section or in amendment of or in addition to that section shall be filed as follows:

The declaration shall

be filed on or before:

the thirtieth day of the
fourth month of the

taxable year
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the sixth month of the

taxable year........coceveeveenieienn.

After the first day of
the sixth month and
before the first day of

the tenth month of the

taxable year........occevverieeninieireenn

After the first day of
the tenth month and
before the first day of

the twelfth month of

the taxable year.......c.ccoccevereeevernninn,

(c) An amendment of a declaration may be filed in any interval between installment

(d) The tax administrator may grant a reasonable extension of time, not to exceed thirty

(30) days, for filing a declaration.

the thirtieth day of the
sixth month of the tax-

able year

the thirtieth day of the
tenth month of the tax-

able year

the thirty-first day of
the twelfth month of

the taxable year

dates prescribed for the taxable year, but only one amendment may be filed in each interval.
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(e)(1) The amount of the advance based on the estimated tax declared under subsection
(a) of this section by corporations described in subdivision (b)(1) of this section shall be paid as
follows:

(i) If the declaration is filed on or before the fifteenth (15th) day of the third (3rd)
month of the taxable year, the advance shall be paid in two (2) installments. The first installment
in the amount of forty percent (40%) of the estimated tax shall be paid at the time of the filing of
the declaration. The second and last installment in the amount of sixty percent (60%) of the
estimated tax shall be paid on or before the fifteenth (15th) day of the sixth (6th) month of the
taxable year.

(ii) If the declaration is filed after the fifteenth (15th) day of the third (3rd) month of the
taxable year and is not required by subsection (b) of this section to be filed on or before the
ﬁfteenth‘(ISth) day of the third (3rd) month of the taxable year, but is required to be filed on or
before the fifteenth (15th) day of the sixth (6th) month, the advance shall be paid in full at the
time of filing.

(2) The amount of the advance based in the estimated tax declared under subsection (a)
of this section by corporations listed in subdivision (b)(2) of this section shall be paid as follows:

(i) If the declaration is filed on or before the thirtieth (30th) day of the fourth (4th)
month of the taxable year, the advance shall be paid in four (4) equal installments. The first
installment shall be paid on or before the thirtieth (30th) day of the fourth (4th) month of the
taxable year, and the second (2nd), third (3rd), and fourth (4th) installments shall be paid on or
before the thirtieth (30th) day of the sixth (6th) month, the thirtieth (30th) day of the tenth (10th)

month, and the thirty-first (31st) day of the twelfth (12th) month of the taxable year, respectively.
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(ii) If the declaration is filed before the thirtieth (30th) day of the sixth (6th) month of
the taxable year, the advance shall be paid in three (3) equal installments. The first installment
shall be paid on or before the thirtieth (30th) day of the sixth (6th) month of the taxable year and
the second (2nd) and third (3rd) installments shall be paid on or before the thirtieth (30th) day of
the tenth (10th) month and the thirty-first (31st) day of the twelfth (12th) month of the taxable
year respectively.

(iii) If the declaration is filed on or before the thirtieth (30th) day of the tenth (10th)
month of the taxable year, the advance shall be paid in two (2) equal installments. The first
installment shall be paid on or before the thirtieth (30th) day of the tenth (10th) month of the
taxable year and the second installment shall be paid on or before the thirty-first (31st) day of the
twelfth (12th) month of the taxable year.

(iv) If the declaration is filed after the time prescribed in subdivision (b)(2) of this
section, including cases in which an extension of time for filing the declaration has been granted,
there shall be paid at the time of the filing all instaliments of the advance which would have been
payable on or before that time if the declaration had been filed within the time prescribed in
subdivision (b)(2) of this section.

(f) If the declaration is filed after the time prescribed in subsection (b) of this section
including cases in which an extension of time for filing the declaration has been granted,
paragraph (e)(1)(ii) of this section does not apialy, and there shall be paid at the time of the filing
all installments of the advance which would have been payable on or before that time if the
declaration had been filed within the time prescribed in subsection (b).

(g) If any amendment of a declaration is filed, the installment payable on or before the

fifteenth (15th) day of the sixth (6th) month, if any, or in the case of corporations licensed as
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surplus line brokers under § 27-3-38, the installments payable on or before the thirtiéth (30th)
days of the sixth (6th) or tenth (10th) month and thirty-first (31st) day of the twelfth (12th)
month are ratably increased or decreased, as the case may be, to reflect the increase or decrease,
as the case may be, in the estimated tax by reason of the amendment.

(h) At the election of the corporation, any installment of the advance may be paid prior
to the date prescribed for payment.

(i) In the case of any underpayment of the advance by a corporation, except as provided
in this section, there is added to the tax due under chapters 11 — 15 and 17 of this title, or § 27-3-
38, for the taxable year an amount determined at the rate described in § 44-1-7 upon the amount
of the underpayment for the period of the underpayment. For the purpose of this subsection, the
"amount of the underpayment" is the excess of the amount of the installment or installments
which would be required to be paid if the advance payments were equal to eighty percent (80%)
of the tax shown on the return for the taxable year. For the purposes of this subsection, the
"period of the underpayment" is the period from the date the installment was required to be paid
to the date prescribed under any of the chapters previously mentioned in this section for the
payment of the tax for the taxable year or, with respect to any portion of the underpayment, the
date on which the portion is paid, whichever date is the earlier. A payment of the advance on the
fifteenth (15th) day of the sixth (6th) month, or for § 27-3-38 on the thirtieth (30th) day of the
sixth (6th) month, of the taxable year is considered a payment of any previous underpayment
only to the extent that the payment exceeds the amount of the installment due on the fifteenth
(15th) day of the sixth (6th) month, or for § 27-3-38 on the thirtieth (30th) day of the sixth (6th)

month, of the taxable year.
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(j) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the addition to the tax with respect to
any underpayment of any installment is not imposed if the total amount of all payments of the
advance made on or before the last date prescribed for payment of the installment equals or
exceeds the amount which would have been required to be paid on or before that date if the
amount of the advance was an amount equal to one hundred percent (100%) of the tax computed
at the rates applicable to the taxable year but otherwise on the basis of the fact shown on the
return of the corporation for and the law applicable to the preceding taxable year.

(k) This section is effective for estimated payments being made by corporations for
taxable years ending on or after December 31, 1990.

(1) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section any taxpayer required to make
an adjustment in accordance with § 44-11-11(f) in a tax year beginning in calendar year 2008
shall compute estimated payments for that tax year as follows:

(1) The installments must equal 100% of the tax due for the prior year plus any
additional tax due for the current year adjustment under § 44-11-11(f), or

(2) That installments must equal 100% of the current year tax liability.

(m) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section any taxpayer required to file a
combined report in accordance with § 44-11-4.1 in a tax year beginning on or after January 1,
2015, shall compute estimated payments for that tax year as follows:

(1) The installments must equal one hundred percent (100%) of the tax due for the prior
year plus any additional tax due to the combined report provisions under § 44-1-4.1; or

(2) The installments must equal one hundred percent (100%) of the current year tax

lability.



(n) Notwithstanding any Rhode Island statute to the contrary, every corporation having a

taxable year beginning after December 31, 2017, shall file its declaration and estimated payment

in accordance with federal statute and regulations: with current federal filing requirements, the 4

estimated tax installment payments of twenty-five percent each are due: on the 15™ day of the 4%,

6% 9% and 12" months of the tax vear. If any due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or Rhode

Island legal holiday, the installment is due on the next regular business day.

SECTION 2. This article shall take effect upon passage.



