HOPE IN THE PROPERTY OF THE PR

State of Rhode Island

GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Rear Admiral Michael E. Platt 1st District Commander 408 Atlantic Avenue Boston, MA 02110

June 5, 2025

Dear Admiral Platt:

As legislators from all over Rhode Island, we strenuously object to the Coast Guard's proposal to remove more than 30 navigational aids that warn boaters of dangers in the waters off our shores.

While we understand that modern technology now allows captains of many vessels to navigate entirely by electronic means, we must speak up on behalf of those who sail our bay and beyond on smaller boats, as many of our constituents do.

Here in the Ocean State, access to our coastal waters is a cherished right for all — one so important that it is enshrined in our state constitution. We believe very strongly that the ocean is for everyone, not just for those with means. Thousands of Rhode Islanders travel along our 400 miles of coast on small, unsophisticated vessels that are not equipped with advanced technology. The buoys and markers that are on the chopping block provide critical visual and/or audible warnings that protect them from very lethal hazards.

Technology has provided incredible advances, but it is not failsafe. Power and signals can be lost. Handheld devices can be dropped overboard or become unusable when wet. Those using them can become distracted. Even if the majority of those on boats were navigating through technology, the continued existence of navigational aids is just as critical as signs on the highway. For the same reason we don't expect drivers on the road to rely exclusively on their phone to navigate — safety — we should not demand it of boaters. Visual and audible markers of the location of navigational hazards are a lifesaving necessity.

We urge you to reject this proposal, and continue to maintain navigational aids along our coast. Technology cannot fully replace the simple visual that they provide, and any savings from their removal would certainly not outweigh the cost of lives and property that would likely be lost.

Very sincerely,

Senator	Louis	P.	DiPalma
	Distric	t 1	2

District 11

Londa Vyskusa

Senate President Valarie J. Lawson District 14

Senate Majority Leader Frank A. Ciccone III District 7

Senate Minority Leader Jessica de la Cruz District 23

Senator Jonathon Acosta District 16

Senator Peter Appollonio District 29

Senator Samuel W. Bell District 5

Senator Jacob E. Bissaillon District 1

Senator Robert Britto District 18

Senator John P. Burke District 9

Senator Alana M. DiMario District 36

Senator Andrew R. Dimitri District 25

Senator Dawn Euer District 13

Senator Walter S. Felag Jr.

District 10

Senator Hanna M. Gallo District 27

enator Victoria Gu

nator Meghan E. Kallman District 15

District 38

Senator Pamela I. Lauria

District 32

Senator Tiara T. Mack

District 6

Senator Matthew L. LaMountain

District 31

Senator Mark P. McKenney District30 Senator Thomas J. Paolino	Senator Elaine J. Morgan District 34 Senator Todd Patalano	Senator Melissa A. Murray District 24 Senator Ryan W. Pearson
District 17 Senator Ana Quezada District 2	Senator Leonidas P. Raptakis District 33	Senator Gordon E. Rogers District 21
Senator V. Susan Sosnowski District 37 Senator Lori Urso District 8 Senator Samuel D. Zurier District 3	Senator Brian Thompson District 20 Senator Bridget Valverde District 35	Senator David P. Tikoian District 22 Senator Lammis Vargas District 28
Representative Michelle E. McGaw District 71 Available L. Blace L. Majority Leader Christopher R. Blazejewski District 2	Representative Lauren H. Carson District 75 Representative Marvin L. Abney District 73	Speaker of the House K. Joseph Shekarchi District 23 May A Chhuun Representative Mia A. Ackerman District 45

Representative Edith H. Ajello District 1 Representative Nathan W. Biah Sr. District 3	Representative José F. Batista District 12 Representative Jennifer Boylan District 66	Representative David A. Bennett District 20 Representative Jon D. Brien District 49
Representative Justine Caldwell District 30	Representative Stephen M. Casey District 50	Representative Julie A. Casimiro District 31
Representative Terri Cortvriend District 72	Representative Arthur J. Corvese District 55	Mean Catter Representative Megan L. Cotter District 39
Representative Robert E. Craven St. District 32	Representance Matthew S. Dawson District 65	Representative Susan R. Donovan District 69
Representative John G. Edwards District 70	Representative Leonela Felix District 61	Representative Deborah A. Fellela District 43
Representative Alex S. Finkelman District 74	Representative Kathleen A. Fogarty District 35	Representative Jenn A. Furtado District 64
Representative Arthur Handy District 18	Representative Marie Hopkins District 21	Representative Raymond A. Hull District 6

Hatteris S. Kazin	Bra Patril Kennedy	Such
Representative Katherine S.	Representative Brian Patrick	Representative Rebecca Kislak
Kazarian	Kennedy	District 4
District 63	District 38	1 1 1 (1)
	Charlene Lis	Lough from the later (37,
Representative Jason Knight	Representative Charlene M. Lima	Representative Carol Hagan
District 67	District 14	
1 M) (10	911	District 33
Joen Mule		Tleoma ! h
Representative Joseph M.	Representative David Morales	Representative Thomas E. Noret
McNamara	District 7	District 25
District 19		
MAS.	Representative Patricia A. Berpa	DR. MARY Ann Shall cross Swith
Representative Earl A. Read III	Representative Patricia A. Serpa	Representative Mary Ann Shallcross
District 26	District 27	Smith
	200	District 46
	Don't Ship	Jan S Feellera
Representative Evan P. Shanley	Representative Joseph J. Solomon	Representative June S. Speakman
District 24	Jr.	District 68
	District 22	
Tima pears	Jenniger a. Stewart	Jeresa Janzi
Representative Tina L. Spears	Representative Jennifer A. Stewart	Representative Teresa A. Tanzi
District 36	_ District 59	District 34
	=	
Representative Brandon T. Voas		
District 57		
	(F20)	