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Date Requested; Thursday, May 1, 2025
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Impact on Expenditures i Impact on Ré'v_é'ht;és_ e
FY 2025 $0 FY 2025 $0
FY 2026 %0 FY 2026 $(3,574,995)
FY 2027 $0 FY 2027 $(5,053,488)
Explanation by State Budget Office; -

This proposal would allow purchasers of a motor vehicle who are trading in a pickup truck with a
gross vehicle weight of less than 8,100 lbs. that was used exclusively for personal use as part of the
transaction to pay the use tax at registration on the gross price of the motor vehicle minus the value
of the truck taken in trade. The use tax at registration would be determined by multiplying the net
value of the transaction by 7%.

Under current Rhode Island law, all purchasers of trucks who register the truck in the state pay a use
tax at registration equal to 7% of the gross purchase price of the truck being registered with no
consideration given for the value of the truck traded in. Trade-in values are already exempt from use
tax for private passenger automobiles and motorcycles,

Summary of Facts and Assumptions:

The bill is effective upon passage. To match similar proposals relating to sales tax on vehicle trade-in
values, the Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) assumed the exemption would take effect October 1,
2025. The Department of Revenue, Division of Taxation (Taxation} notes that under R.l. Gen. Laws §
44-18.1-5 and because Rhode Island is a signatory to the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement
{SSUTA), it is necessary to allow for at ieast a ninety {90} day period for the change. Taxation also
notes additional potential concerns with the bill as drafted and likely will be submitting a letter of
concern for any hearing on the bill to note these concerns.

This bill specifies that the new exemption of the trade-in value only applies to “pickup trucks.” Under
state law and in Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV) data, the term pickup truck is not defined. DMV data
does indicate that many vehicle transactions under 8,100 lbs. are associated with vehicles
commonly known as pickup trucks. Given these facts, this analysis does not try to separate out
pickup trucks from other trucks and instead looks at all truck transactions under 8,100 Ibs.

Further, it is impossible for ORA to differentiate the use of the truck whether for personal use or
commercial use or a combination of both. The analysis presented here should be interpreted as a
maximum revenue loss as ORA calculated the impact with all trucks found under this weight limit
regardless of use or plate type. ORA is unsure how the “personal use” language would be interpreted
and implemented and recommends further research.
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This analysis uses data from the Division of Motor Vehicles {DMV) that specifies the trade-in value of
trucks purchased in Massachusetts by Rhode Island residents. Massachusetts, unlike Rhode Island,
allows the value of trade-ins to be exempt from that state's sales and use tax. Rhode Island
residents are required to pay the difference in sales and use tax between Massachusetts (6.25%)
and Rhode Island (7%) when they register their vehicle in Rhode Island. As part of this process, those
purchasers must add back the value of the trade-in to calculate the Rhode Island use tax owed.

According to the DMV data, the trade-in value from Massachusetts-purchased trucks less than 8,100
pounds would have lowered sales and use tax collections (had those trade-in amounts been exempt
from Rhode island taxation) by 14.14% in FY 2024. ORA assumed that the value of trade-ins
associated with non-Massachusetts dealers would be similar and applied that rate to the other truck
transactions in the data,

In FY 2024, the value of total truck transactions less than 8,100 pounds in the DMV data from
dealers other than Massachusetts dealers was $397,896,683. Reducing this by 14.14% indicates
that exempting the trade-in value would have reduced the value of these transactions by
$56,276,206. Applying Rhode Island’s 7% use tax rate indicates that the exemption of this trade-in
value would have reduced sales and use tax by $3,939,334, Sales and use tax on the trade-in value
of trucks purchased in Massachusetts was $585,883 (which would also be forgone under this bill}.
Adding the loss from Massachusetts and non-Massachusetts transactions reveals a total loss in FY
2024 from the proposal of $4,525,217,

The revenue loss was grown using the estimated growth rates for all sales and use tax adopted at
the November 2024 Revenue Estimating Conference (REC) for FY 2025 and FY 2026 (and the
growth rate estimated for FY 2027 in the Office of Management and Budget's tie-in forecast after the
November 2024 REC). The loss estimate was also prorated for an October 1, 2025, start date by
discounting by 26.6% (which is the average share of DMV revenue that occurs between July and
September over the last five years).

Comments on Sources of Funds:
All sales and use taxes are general revenues,

Summary of Fiscal Impact:

FY 2025: Not applicable given the assumed effective date of October 1, 2025.
FY 2026: A general revenue loss of $3,574,995 is forecast.

FY 2027: A general revenue loss of $5,053,488 is forecast.
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